NATION

PASSWORD

[DRAFT] Duck Crossing

A place to spoil daily issues for those who haven't had them yet, snigger at typos, and discuss ideas for new ones.
Viciebskaja
Lobbyist

Founded: Mar 27, 2016
Corporate Police State

[DRAFT] Duck Crossing

Postby Viciebskaja » Wed Oct 07, 2020 2:36 pm

This is my first time ever trying to write an issue, hopefully I did alright lol
This issue was inspired by a book I read recently titled Moby-Duck. I know there was another issue that dealt with cargo ships being shipwrecked (#521), but I think this one is different enough. Please tell me anything I should consider editing!
By the way, I don't really know how @@THESETHINGS@@ work, so they're probably really messy in here. Oops.

[TITLE] Duck Crossing
[DESCRIPTION] A cargo ship carrying an assortment of bath toys sunk in the waters of @@NAME@@ a few weeks back. Included in the cargo shipment were thousands of plastic rubber ducks, whose cheaply made yellow paint coatings were discovered to be toxic to small marine species. Recently, ducks from the shipwreck have begun washing ashore on @@ANIMAL@@ City’s beaches, harming beach wildlife and bringing the issue to public attention.

[OPTION 1] "This is so exciting!” states scientist turned author @@RANDOMNAME_1@@, while placing @@HIS_1@@ surprisingly thick novel on your desk. "It’s an opportunity to create the largest dataset the @@DEMONYM@@ oceanography community has ever had! We know the location of the shipwreck, right? By tracking where these thousands of ducks end up around the coasts of @@NAME@@, we can also track the ocean currents that steered the ducks to their final destinations! We’ll need the public to help us search @@DEMONYM@@ beaches for these ducks for this project to be feasible, which is where my book comes in. It has a whole chapter about ways to get readers involved in the search. If you vigorously promote my novel to the entire country, the public will surely get interested in our cause!”