NATION

PASSWORD

Concern about the Issue Submission Process

A place to spoil daily issues for those who haven't had them yet, snigger at typos, and discuss ideas for new ones.
Jakker City
Envoy

Founded: Dec 10, 2011
Ex-Nation

Concern about the Issue Submission Process

Postby Jakker City » Tue Feb 17, 2015 10:52 am

I am new to the Issues Forum and the process of writing an issue. During my brief time here, I have noticed some trends that I would appreciate some clarity on.

Currently, the process of writing an Issue is as follows: Get an idea, make a draft, post the draft and hopefully get some feedback from people, submit the draft and hope for the best.

It seems like this system is lacking on multiple fronts. There is no guarantee that you will get feedback for your draft, so working on improving it can be iffy, especially for new people writing issues that need a lot of work. Secondly, the fact that people are not notified if their issue is accepted seems silly to me. How do I know that it wasn't accepted? How do I know what was the matter with it? All this seems to do is leave the whole aspect of issues being accepted very lacking in transparency.

Yet issues are needed. Time and time again, I see people post about wanting new issues. Even Issue Editors comment about the need for people to write new issues. To me, I don't necessarily think the problem is that people are not writing issues. In fact, mods and issue editors have a huge backlog of issues that are submitted. The problem is in the process. It is not very clear cut and it is slow:

Luna Amore wrote:This is the slowest moving forum. Please don't bump your thread after a day. If it falls off the front page, you can bump it. Although the best bump here is an updated draft.