NATION

PASSWORD

[PASSED] Consumer Product Safety

A carefully preserved record of the most notable World Assembly debates.
Cool Egg Sandwich
Diplomat

Founded: Sep 04, 2006
Ex-Nation

[PASSED] Consumer Product Safety

Postby Cool Egg Sandwich » Tue Feb 08, 2011 1:57 pm

Hello everyone, I have been participating in NationStates intermittently since 2006, but this is my first attempt at a World Assembly proposal. I wanted to post here to get some feedback, as well as see the level of support in the WA for a proposal of this nature. With that, I present "Consumer Product Safety" in its draft stage...

First Draft:

"Consumer Product Safety"

Category: Social Justice
Strength: Significant
Proposed by: Cool Egg Sandwich

ACKNOWLEDGING that a predominant role of this body is to promote the safety and security of its member nations and their citizens;

REALIZING that in many instances citizens of WA member nations are sustaining injury, illness, or even death directly related to unsafe consumer products;

RECOGNIZING the need for a regulatory body charged with maintaining safety standards of said consumer products;

The World Assembly,

ESTABLISHES a “Consumer Product Safety Commission”, hereafter CPSC, to protect citizens within WA member nations and maintain international consumer product safety standards;

DEFINES a “consumer product” as any good or product a consumer may purchase, i.e. toys, automobiles, household chemicals, electronics etc.;

DEFINES an “unsafe consumer product” as any consumer product that can pose a fire, electrical, chemical, or mechanical hazard or can injure children, even while used properly and according to age / training requirements;

PROHIBITS manufacturers in member countries from producing consumer products that do not meet the said safety standards in the current form;