NATION

PASSWORD

Conversion from Theism to Atheism

For discussion and debate about anything. (Not a roleplay related forum; out-of-character commentary only.)
Hanging Garden
Spokesperson

Founded: Oct 14, 2014
Ex-Nation

Conversion from Theism to Atheism

Postby Hanging Garden » Mon May 18, 2015 2:54 pm

I appear to be going through a period of heavy religious doubt, since I partook in a thread about criminal systems. For some reason, I ended up contradicting myself, eventually reasoning that nothing exists, and then I just sort of lost it from there.

Point being, I perceive this as a conversion- or a transition- from theism to atheism. For some reason I don't really believe that there is a god anymore. Anyway, is this merely a "phase", in which I will find theism again, or is atheism more of a permanent position? I am fairly new to the concept of atheism, so forgive me for any ignorance or naivety. I am just really confused.
The new Hanging Garden has stood up- let power come to the people.

Pope Joan
Post Marshal

Founded: Mar 11, 2009
Ex-Nation

Postby Pope Joan » Mon May 18, 2015 2:57 pm

Were you proselytized? Did some mean atheist twist your arm, manipulate your emotions?

Because that is how old time evangelists used to work.

Otherwise, be free in your conscience; it is your only judge.
"Life is difficult".

-M. Scott Peck

Russels Orbiting Teapot
Senator

Founded: Jan 20, 2015
Ex-Nation

Postby Russels Orbiting Teapot » Mon May 18, 2015 2:57 pm

No one can possibly answer that for you but yourself.

That said, plenty of people deconvert to Atheism for life. (It's not a conversion because atheism isn't a religion.)

Here's a blog by another recent deconvert that might be helpful for some of the things you're going through.

http://www.patheos.com/blogs/yearwithoutgod/

Prussia-Steinbach
Postmaster of the Fleet

Founded: Mar 12, 2012
Ex-Nation

Postby Prussia-Steinbach » Mon May 18, 2015 2:58 pm