NATION

PASSWORD

[DRAFT] Inflated Concerns

A place to spoil daily issues for those who haven't had them yet, snigger at typos, and discuss ideas for new ones.
Sensorland
Ambassador

Founded: Jun 30, 2013
Ex-Nation

[DRAFT] Inflated Concerns

Postby Sensorland » Sat Oct 26, 2019 5:58 am

I'm not entirely sure about the title, but it'll do for now. Anyway, this is my first attempt at an issue in a long time, so I'd love to hear some feedback.
Current draft:
Title: Inflated Concerns

Validity: Very strong economy, not fully centrally planned, not fully laissez-faire

The issue: Your economic advisors have noted that the level of inflation in @@NAME@@ has, for the past few months, consistently fallen short of the central bank’s target. They monotonously explain to you that this is a sign of slowing growth in the economy, and can be associated with unemployment and low consumer confidence. Several advisors and bystanders begin pitching their solutions to you as you fight the urge to drift off to sleep.

Option: Your top economist is in a frenzy. “This is really bad, @@LEADER@@,” @@HE@@ says. “We might be looking at unemployment, stagnation, or even…” @@HE@@ shudders, “...deflation. Not to fear, though, there is a solution! We can put more money in the economy by buying back government bonds and reducing the amount of @@CURRENCY@@ banks are required to hold. That’ll get money circulating and our economy back on track!”
Outcome: the central bank takes extreme measures whenever the economy falls slightly short of projections

Option (validity: must have physical currency): “Classic move of the economic elite to suggest putting more money in the economy by way of the rich,” comments one of your younger aides. “You can’t trust the banks and stockbroker types. If you need more money in the economy, why don’t you just print more @@CURRENCY@@? That way, it’s ordinary people who feel the benefit.”