NATION

PASSWORD

A plea for leniancy

Talk about regional management and politics, raider/defender gameplay, and other game-related matters.
Not a roleplaying forum.
Juxtapositions
Political Columnist

Founded: Antiquity
Ex-Nation

A plea for leniancy

Postby Juxtapositions » Wed Jan 01, 2014 9:33 pm

I've been playing this game since 2003(2?) and I have yet to find another game like it. I like this game for it's simplistic interface allowing people of different thoughts, countries,and ideologies to share a common communication medium. I will freely admit that his game has shaped parts of my real life persona simply through interaction and understanding of different viewpoints and it does this over a simple text interface. I have argued, sympathized, ridiculed and bonded with many different players and it has made the time I spend playing this game worthwhile.

For the first time in over a decade of playing this game I saw the deletion by moderators of entire regions over a mindset. I'm talking about Nazi sympathizing players. What I'm talking about can be found here in this locked topic. http://forum.nationstates.net/viewtopic.php?f=16&t=217052

I am not a Nazi sympathizer. Any group that idealizes eliminating entire groups of people based on their belief needs to really needs to adjust their thought process. It's an interesting juxtaposition putting the mindset of the Nazi's next to the the mindset of deleting entire regions in NationStates in order to suppress them. Certainly I am not claiming that the mods are doing what Nazi's did, that's absurd. However, suppressing the free exchange of ideas suppresses understanding simultaneously increasing the animosity between groups.