NATION

PASSWORD

New Reports page (beta)

Bug reports, general help, ideas for improvements, and questions about how things are meant to work.

Advertisement

Remove ads

User avatar
[violet]
Site Admin
 
Posts: 14189
Founded: Antiquity

Postby [violet] » Thu Sep 26, 2013 8:05 pm

[violet] wrote:You should be able to refresh the results section of the page by re-clicking whatever is already selected: "World" or "Dossier" or whatever.

This works now.

User avatar
Tlik
Ambassador
 
Posts: 1253
Founded: Jan 31, 2009
Ex-Nation

Postby Tlik » Fri Sep 27, 2013 9:23 am

Code: Select all
Seconds ago: Mannyopolis ceased to exist.
Seconds ago: The Republic of Mannyopolis ceased to exist.
Seconds ago: The Republic of Mannyopolis ceased to exist.


I get why the first two appear, because they're for two different events, but should it really be three times?

I've no idea if I'd be able to reproduce it. Running Chrome, slightly laggy (mainly my connection at fault).

EDIT: Got it again, so it isn't an isolated incident.

Code: Select all
Seconds ago: New nation 2013 ceased to exist.
Seconds ago: The Republic of New Nation 2013 ceased to exist.
Seconds ago: The Republic of New Nation 2013 ceased to exist.
Last edited by Tlik on Fri Sep 27, 2013 9:25 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
The blAAtschApen
Retired Moderator
 
Posts: 51129
Founded: Antiquity
Forumer Mod

Postby The blAAtschApen » Fri Sep 27, 2013 10:01 am

Timsvill wrote:I feel like I'm part of the NSA! Over all, seems pretty good to me!!!!!


Well, it is the NationStates Activity page. So you're not that far off with being a part of the NSA.
Last edited by The blAAtschApen on Fri Sep 27, 2013 10:02 am, edited 1 time in total.
Former mod, now a rocker mocker. Thank you Ringo
Heaven is other people
Behind the invisible hand of the market hides the iron fist of the state.
Whenever you find yourself on the side of the majority, it is time to pause and reflect - Mark Twain
Silent is an anagram of listen.
Proud adopter of a lamb called violet: http://imgur.com/a/pxnSf
Male. Please address me as 'he'.
This is the 8th line. If your sig is longer than mine, it is too long.

User avatar
Charlotte Ryberg
The Muse of the Westcountry
 
Posts: 15007
Founded: Mar 14, 2007
Civil Rights Lovefest

Postby Charlotte Ryberg » Sat Sep 28, 2013 12:35 am

Bug report:

2 days 3 hours ago: Embassy established between Balsanidan Union and Funen.
2 days 3 hours ago: Embassy established between Balsanidan Union and Funen.
2 days 3 hours ago: Embassy established between Balsanidan Union and Funen.
2 days 3 hours ago: Embassy established between Balsanidan Union and Funen.


URL: http://www.nationstates.net/page=activi ... gion.funen
Issue: Successful new embassies are reported four times.

User avatar
Communist Eraser
Diplomat
 
Posts: 545
Founded: Dec 31, 2010
Ex-Nation

Postby Communist Eraser » Sat Sep 28, 2013 3:02 am

There is any method to extend the reporting period of the reports? Or the number of items display on the page? Like in the old reports page where you can set it to the last XX hours.

I keep track of how my region answers issues (really NSA I know ) as a general check of activity and as a base for RPs. Currently, http://www.nationstates.net/page=activi ... filter=law only shows up to 1 day 5 hours ago, whereas if I click on the individual nations it has ones older than that.

My old method was to dossier everyone in the region and use the old reports page, but I rather not do that.
EASTERN EUROPE: The MELTING POT OF IDEOLOGIES
An Libertarian Socialist Peacezone. Four Principles of Peacezone Theory


User avatar
[violet]
Site Admin
 
Posts: 14189
Founded: Antiquity

Postby [violet] » Mon Sep 30, 2013 11:45 pm

Charlotte Ryberg wrote:Issue: Successful new embassies are reported four times.

Thanks; now fixed for new embassies.

User avatar
[violet]
Site Admin
 
Posts: 14189
Founded: Antiquity

Postby [violet] » Mon Sep 30, 2013 11:45 pm

Communist Eraser wrote:There is any method to extend the reporting period of the reports?

There is now a "More..." button at the bottom of results.

User avatar
Aksun
Ambassador
 
Posts: 1041
Founded: Sep 07, 2010
Ex-Nation

Postby Aksun » Tue Oct 01, 2013 8:42 am

It says the page does not exist.

Running Safari on iOS 7 iPhone 4.

User avatar
Ballotonia
Site Admin
 
Posts: 5316
Founded: Antiquity
New York Times Democracy

Postby Ballotonia » Tue Oct 01, 2013 10:33 am

Aksun wrote:It says the page does not exist.

Running Safari on iOS 7 iPhone 4.


Did you try: http://www.nationstates.net/page=activity
or are you still using an old URL?

Ballotonia
"Een volk dat voor tirannen zwicht zal meer dan lijf en goed verliezen, dan dooft het licht…" -- H.M. van Randwijk

User avatar
Aksun
Ambassador
 
Posts: 1041
Founded: Sep 07, 2010
Ex-Nation

Postby Aksun » Tue Oct 01, 2013 11:15 am

The link you gave me works and I am not using nationstates ++.

User avatar
Leutria
Ambassador
 
Posts: 1494
Founded: Oct 29, 2012
Civil Rights Lovefest

Postby Leutria » Tue Oct 01, 2013 11:51 am

The issue the poster above has was they went to the original 'reports2' page which no longer exists. Perhaps it should be removed from the first post.

User avatar
Omigodtheykilledkenny
Negotiator
 
Posts: 5602
Founded: Mar 14, 2005
Capitalizt

Postby Omigodtheykilledkenny » Tue Oct 01, 2013 1:07 pm

Could we still have a link to the activity page on the sidebar? It would still be useful (even though the link now exists on every page with ongoing activities). Also, can we set preferences on our activity viewing (like a default setting for only regional activity, only region-member activity, only WA activity, or a combination thereof)?

Forgive me if these suggestions have already been made.
Omigodtheykilledkenny FAQ | "The Biggest Sovereigntist IN THE WORLD" - Chester Pearson

User avatar
[violet]
Site Admin
 
Posts: 14189
Founded: Antiquity

Postby [violet] » Tue Oct 01, 2013 4:10 pm

Omigodtheykilledkenny wrote:Could we still have a link to the activity page on the sidebar?

I know it's annoying to lose a link that you regularly used, but I feel there's only a fairly small number of players who use it a lot, versus a large number of players for whom it just clutters up the panel.

Also, can we set preferences on our activity viewing (like a default setting for only regional activity, only region-member activity, only WA activity, or a combination thereof)?

You can kind of do this in a couple of ways. First, how you enter the activity page determines what it shows: for example, if you go to the WA page and click "Related Events," it takes you to the Activity page showing WA activity. But if you visit a region page and click "Regional Happenings" (or "Activity"), it shows you region activity. The World, Dossier, and Nation pages work similarly.

For very fine-tuned control, you can bookmark any particular page: e.g. select a particular region and combination of filters, then bookmark that.

User avatar
Omigodtheykilledkenny
Negotiator
 
Posts: 5602
Founded: Mar 14, 2005
Capitalizt

Postby Omigodtheykilledkenny » Tue Oct 01, 2013 4:32 pm

Would rewriting the code for really be so difficult that we're better off bookmarking our activity-viewing preferences?

I'm asking sincerely here, not being snarky.

EDIT: oh and whoops, just realized the question is moot without the sidebar link, but really, I used the sidebar links before, and find them a little more handy than having to visit a page just to click the Activity symbol.
Last edited by Omigodtheykilledkenny on Tue Oct 01, 2013 4:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Omigodtheykilledkenny FAQ | "The Biggest Sovereigntist IN THE WORLD" - Chester Pearson

User avatar
Afforess
Ambassador
 
Posts: 1105
Founded: Jun 22, 2009
Ex-Nation

Postby Afforess » Tue Oct 01, 2013 4:43 pm

Omigodtheykilledkenny wrote:Would rewriting the code for really be so difficult that we're better off bookmarking our activity-viewing preferences?

I'm asking sincerely here, not being snarky.

EDIT: oh and whoops, just realized the question is moot without the sidebar link, but really, I used the sidebar links before, and find them a little more handy than having to visit a page just to click the Activity symbol.


Install NS++.

I added Activity to the sidebar.
Minister of the Interior, Capitalist Paradise

The reasonable man adapts himself to the world: the unreasonable one persists in trying to adapt the world to himself. Therefore all progress depends on the unreasonable man.

User avatar
[violet]
Site Admin
 
Posts: 14189
Founded: Antiquity

Postby [violet] » Tue Oct 01, 2013 5:38 pm

Omigodtheykilledkenny wrote:Would rewriting the code for really be so difficult that we're better off bookmarking our activity-viewing preferences?

I'm asking sincerely here, not being snarky.

What do you have in mind? It's not a code issue, it's a UI issue; I don't want to put 10 links in the sidebar: ACTIVITY: DOSSIER, ACTIVITY: WORLD, ACTIVITY: REGION DOSSIER, etc etc. So those are all two clicks away. And any particular combination is never further off, but if you often check something like, say, "The Rejected Realms + filter: move+endo", you can bookmark that page.

I don't believe there's any one particular combination of entity & filters that would be so often used it deserves its own sidebar link.

User avatar
Omigodtheykilledkenny
Negotiator
 
Posts: 5602
Founded: Mar 14, 2005
Capitalizt

Postby Omigodtheykilledkenny » Tue Oct 01, 2013 5:52 pm

The Activity sidebar I was thinking about would show all world activity as default, but players would be able to adjust and customize it so it only shows the feeds they want to see when they click it. That's what I was thinking of. Just one link, not 50. :p
Omigodtheykilledkenny FAQ | "The Biggest Sovereigntist IN THE WORLD" - Chester Pearson

User avatar
General Halcones
Diplomat
 
Posts: 739
Founded: Sep 06, 2010
Ex-Nation

Postby General Halcones » Tue Oct 22, 2013 2:06 pm

I have a request....

Is it possible to allow us to decide how many happenings appear on this exciting activity feature? For example, such that only one happening appears, on our request. Would this speed up collating time?

I'm sure it would be easy for you to do.... and it may be very helpful.

User avatar
[violet]
Site Admin
 
Posts: 14189
Founded: Antiquity

Postby [violet] » Tue Oct 22, 2013 5:14 pm

How do you mean? It sounds a little like what is already available via the API using the "limit" parameter:

http://www.nationstates.net/pages/api.html#worldapi

User avatar
General Halcones
Diplomat
 
Posts: 739
Founded: Sep 06, 2010
Ex-Nation

Postby General Halcones » Wed Oct 23, 2013 12:44 am

Yep, that's exactly what I mean. Thanks for pointing that out. That's brilliant. I should have looked harder!

Would it possible, however, to make this an option in the activity feature?
Last edited by General Halcones on Wed Oct 23, 2013 12:46 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
[violet]
Site Admin
 
Posts: 14189
Founded: Antiquity

Postby [violet] » Wed Oct 23, 2013 12:22 pm

Probably not, just because I don't think enough people will use it to justify the extra interface clutter. It's more likely that we'll get the ability to pause the feed.

User avatar
General Halcones
Diplomat
 
Posts: 739
Founded: Sep 06, 2010
Ex-Nation

Postby General Halcones » Wed Oct 23, 2013 1:00 pm

The problem is the World API has a 28 second delay.... why is this?

User avatar
Ballotonia
Site Admin
 
Posts: 5316
Founded: Antiquity
New York Times Democracy

Postby Ballotonia » Wed Oct 23, 2013 1:10 pm

General Halcones wrote:The problem is the World API has a 28 second delay.... why is this?


See the discussion at the beginning of this thread.

Tldr: if it weren't on delay it would've cut down on defender's response times to invasions. Since that wasn't the objective for this feature, the delay was put in. That way whether or not to remove the delay, what its effects would be, etc... is a separate discussion from moving the old style reports to the new style Activity page.

Ballotonia
"Een volk dat voor tirannen zwicht zal meer dan lijf en goed verliezen, dan dooft het licht…" -- H.M. van Randwijk

User avatar
General Halcones
Diplomat
 
Posts: 739
Founded: Sep 06, 2010
Ex-Nation

Postby General Halcones » Wed Oct 23, 2013 1:33 pm

Fair enough.

Onto another issue. I have a problem when viewing the activity feature in Internet Explorer. It comes up with "Error on page". More specifically: Line 1158, Char: 6, Error: Object doesn't support this property or method, Code: 0. Not sure if that helps.

Any idea why this is happening?

User avatar
The blAAtschApen
Retired Moderator
 
Posts: 51129
Founded: Antiquity
Forumer Mod

Postby The blAAtschApen » Wed Oct 23, 2013 1:36 pm

General Halcones wrote:Fair enough.

Onto another issue. I have a problem when viewing the activity feature in Internet Explorer. It comes up with "Error on page". More specifically: Line 1158, Char: 6, Error: Object doesn't support this property or method, Code: 0. Not sure if that helps.

Any idea why this is happening?


Which version of Internet Explorer?
Former mod, now a rocker mocker. Thank you Ringo
Heaven is other people
Behind the invisible hand of the market hides the iron fist of the state.
Whenever you find yourself on the side of the majority, it is time to pause and reflect - Mark Twain
Silent is an anagram of listen.
Proud adopter of a lamb called violet: http://imgur.com/a/pxnSf
Male. Please address me as 'he'.
This is the 8th line. If your sig is longer than mine, it is too long.

PreviousNext

Advertisement

Remove ads

Return to Technical

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Nogodia, Roavin

Advertisement

Remove ads