NATION

PASSWORD

[DRAFT] Correcting Correctional Facilities

Where WA members debate how to improve the world, one resolution at a time.
Bormiar
Ambassador

Founded: Mar 25, 2019
Inoffensive Centrist Democracy

[DRAFT] Correcting Correctional Facilities

Postby Bormiar » Sat Jan 18, 2020 11:06 am

I'm completely new to the GA, but have private-drafted a bit. Please treat the draft as such.

Correcting Correctional Facilities

Category: Civil Rights | Strength: Mild

This esteemed World Assembly,

Believing that a lack of accountability and institutionalized neglect among prison law enforcement in correctional facilities incites and abets in prisoner abuse,

Recognizing correctional facilities to be rehabilitative as well as punitive, and believing common practices such as excessive solitary confinement and unnecessary violence to be counter-productive to this goal,

Hereby:

1. Defines the following, for the purposes of this resolution:
    1. “prisoner” as any person legally held in a correctional facility for a crime they have been convicted of or for governmental investigative purposes, such as a person awaiting trial, questioning, a verdict, sentencing, or any other law enforcement proceeding,
    2. “solitary confinement” as any practice in which a prisoner is subject to isolation from others, not including guards, law enforcement, or medical authorities, for purposes other than sleep or immediate danger,
    3. “protective confinement” as any practice in which a prisoner is subject to isolation from others, not including guards and medical authorities, for the purpose of the prisoners own protection,
    4. “correctional facility” as any jail, prison, or facility designed to hold an incarcerated person or persons.
  2. Criminalizes solitary confinement or protective confinement within member-nations, where it can reasonably be assumed to be maddening or otherwise cause or amplify psychological harm,