Page 26 of 30

PostPosted: Tue Nov 17, 2020 4:30 pm
by Shazbotdom
Sanghyeok wrote:I'd like to ask if my signature is allowed? I thought it was 8 lines but it might be 8.5

I'd get rid of that empty line between the Box and the first line of text outside of it.

PostPosted: Tue Nov 17, 2020 8:02 pm
by Frisbeeteria
Sanghyeok wrote:I'd like to ask if my signature is allowed? I thought it was 8 lines but it might be 8.5

It was 10 lines at least. I took out 2 blank lines and made it legal.

PostPosted: Tue Nov 17, 2020 11:43 pm
by Sanghyeok
Frisbeeteria wrote:
Sanghyeok wrote:I'd like to ask if my signature is allowed? I thought it was 8 lines but it might be 8.5

It was 10 lines at least. I took out 2 blank lines and made it legal.


Thanks for your help!

PostPosted: Wed Nov 18, 2020 10:20 pm
by Byzconia
I just added a second spoiler, so I wanted to check and make sure mine was completely kosher. I tried to get them closer together, but that's how they've decided to space for some reason.

PostPosted: Thu Nov 19, 2020 7:16 am
by Frisbeeteria
Byzconia wrote:that's how they've decided to space for some reason.

That was because you had each of them on their own line. That takes up 5-6 lines of your available 8.
Content

Content

Code: Select all
[spoiler=1st spoiler]Content[/spoiler]
[spoiler=2nd spoiler]Content[/spoiler]

You can resolve that by putting both spoilers on the same line. Now you're taking up only 3 lines.
Content
Content

Code: Select all
[spoiler=1st spoiler]Content[/spoiler][spoiler=2nd spoiler]Content[/spoiler]

You can go one step further by using float tags, to reduce it to 1.5 lines. This is the best way to incorporate multiple spoilers:
Content
Content
Content
Content



Code: Select all
[floatleft][spoiler=1st spoiler]Content[/spoiler][/floatleft][floatleft][spoiler=2nd spoiler]Content[/spoiler][/floatleft][floatright][spoiler=3rd spoiler]Content[/spoiler][/floatright][floatright][spoiler=4th spoiler]Content[/spoiler][/floatright]

Spoilers should always be the last thing in your sig, as the way spacing works, you almost always get a wasted blank line between the spoiler and the next content. It can't be removed by any method I've discovered.

PostPosted: Thu Nov 19, 2020 10:36 pm
by Byzconia
Frisbeeteria wrote:
Byzconia wrote:that's how they've decided to space for some reason.

That was because you had each of them on their own line. That takes up 5-6 lines of your available 8.
Content

Content

Code: Select all
[spoiler=1st spoiler]Content[/spoiler]
[spoiler=2nd spoiler]Content[/spoiler]

You can resolve that by putting both spoilers on the same line. Now you're taking up only 3 lines.
Content
Content

Code: Select all
[spoiler=1st spoiler]Content[/spoiler][spoiler=2nd spoiler]Content[/spoiler]

You can go one step further by using float tags, to reduce it to 1.5 lines. This is the best way to incorporate multiple spoilers:
Content
Content
Content
Content



Code: Select all
[floatleft][spoiler=1st spoiler]Content[/spoiler][/floatleft][floatleft][spoiler=2nd spoiler]Content[/spoiler][/floatleft][floatright][spoiler=3rd spoiler]Content[/spoiler][/floatright][floatright][spoiler=4th spoiler]Content[/spoiler][/floatright]

Spoilers should always be the last thing in your sig, as the way spacing works, you almost always get a wasted blank line between the spoiler and the next content. It can't be removed by any method I've discovered.

Huh, never would've thought of that. Much cleaner now. Thanks!

PostPosted: Fri Dec 04, 2020 2:52 am
by Romextly
Can someone help me with my sig?

PostPosted: Fri Dec 04, 2020 7:02 am
by Johto-
I remember seeing a guide on here a while ago, but I can't find it anymore.

How do you get a box with a scroll bar at the bottom that moves horizontally? I'm trying to make a news ticker for my sig (in contrast to the oversized box on Union of Sovereign States and Republics) and I can't remember the code for it.

PostPosted: Fri Dec 04, 2020 7:19 am
by Frisbeeteria
How do you get a box with a scroll bar at the bottom that moves horizontally? I'm trying to make a news ticker for my sig (in contrast to the oversized box on Union of Sovereign States and Republics) and I can't remember the code for it.

Code: Select all
[pre]How do you get a box with a scroll bar at the bottom that moves horizontally? I'm trying to make a news ticker for my sig (in contrast to the oversized box on Union of Sovereign States and Republics) and I can't remember the code for it.[/pre]


Romextly wrote:Can someone help me with my sig?

What help do you want? It also helps to post your current sig code in a [code] box, maybe under a spoiler.

PostPosted: Fri Dec 04, 2020 8:05 am
by Johto-
Frisbeeteria wrote:
How do you get a box with a scroll bar at the bottom that moves horizontally? I'm trying to make a news ticker for my sig (in contrast to the oversized box on Union of Sovereign States and Republics) and I can't remember the code for it.

Code: Select all
[pre]How do you get a box with a scroll bar at the bottom that moves horizontally? I'm trying to make a news ticker for my sig (in contrast to the oversized box on Union of Sovereign States and Republics) and I can't remember the code for it.[/pre]

Thanks, Fris!

PostPosted: Tue Feb 09, 2021 6:20 pm
by Shunmyo KK
It's come to my attention to there's a problem with my sig - I'm using a table and it looks like posts below mine get lumped up, adding extra boxes to each. Is there a problem with the code in my sig or is there a problem with the table itself?

Edit: I'm removing it from my sig for right now, but this is the code I used:

Code: Select all
[align=center][table][/align][td][align=center][url=https://www.nationstates.net/nation=shunmyo_kk/detail=factbook/id=1503594]yuki[/url][/align][/td][td][align=center][url=https://www.nationstates.net/nation=shunmyo_kk/detail=factbook/id=1503636]moe[/url][/align][/td][td][align=center][url=https://www.nationstates.net/nation=shunmyo_kk/detail=factbook/id=1503607]takashi[/url][/align][/td][td][align=center][url=https://www.nationstates.net/nation=shunmyo_kk/detail=factbook/id=1503650]yoshio[/url][/align][/td][/table]

PostPosted: Tue Feb 09, 2021 6:39 pm
by Kiu Ghesik
Shunmyo KK wrote:It's come to my attention to there's a problem with my sig - I'm using a table and it looks like posts below mine get lumped up, adding extra boxes to each. Is there a problem with the code in my sig or is there a problem with the table itself?

Edit: I'm removing it from my sig for right now, but this is the code I used:

Code: Select all
[align=center][table][/align][td][align=center][url=https://www.nationstates.net/nation=shunmyo_kk/detail=factbook/id=1503594]yuki[/url][/align][/td][td][align=center][url=https://www.nationstates.net/nation=shunmyo_kk/detail=factbook/id=1503636]moe[/url][/align][/td][td][align=center][url=https://www.nationstates.net/nation=shunmyo_kk/detail=factbook/id=1503607]takashi[/url][/align][/td][td][align=center][url=https://www.nationstates.net/nation=shunmyo_kk/detail=factbook/id=1503650]yoshio[/url][/align][/td][/table]

I think the problem is that the align=center terminates right after the table. I believe that if you moved it to be

Code: Select all
[align=center][table][td][align=center][url=https://www.nationstates.net/nation=shunmyo_kk/detail=factbook/id=1503594]yuki[/url][/align][/td][td][align=center][url=https://www.nationstates.net/nation=shunmyo_kk/detail=factbook/id=1503636]moe[/url][/align][/td][td][align=center][url=https://www.nationstates.net/nation=shunmyo_kk/detail=factbook/id=1503607]takashi[/url][/align][/td][td][align=center][url=https://www.nationstates.net/nation=shunmyo_kk/detail=factbook/id=1503650]yoshio[/url][/align][/td][/table][/align]

Then you would potentially fix the issue.

PostPosted: Tue Feb 09, 2021 6:40 pm
by Shunmyo KK
Kiu Ghesik wrote:
Shunmyo KK wrote:It's come to my attention to there's a problem with my sig - I'm using a table and it looks like posts below mine get lumped up, adding extra boxes to each. Is there a problem with the code in my sig or is there a problem with the table itself?

Edit: I'm removing it from my sig for right now, but this is the code I used:

Code: Select all
[align=center][table][/align][td][align=center][url=https://www.nationstates.net/nation=shunmyo_kk/detail=factbook/id=1503594]yuki[/url][/align][/td][td][align=center][url=https://www.nationstates.net/nation=shunmyo_kk/detail=factbook/id=1503636]moe[/url][/align][/td][td][align=center][url=https://www.nationstates.net/nation=shunmyo_kk/detail=factbook/id=1503607]takashi[/url][/align][/td][td][align=center][url=https://www.nationstates.net/nation=shunmyo_kk/detail=factbook/id=1503650]yoshio[/url][/align][/td][/table]

I think the problem is that the align=center terminates right after the table. I believe that if you moved it to be

Code: Select all
[align=center][table][td][align=center][url=https://www.nationstates.net/nation=shunmyo_kk/detail=factbook/id=1503594]yuki[/url][/align][/td][td][align=center][url=https://www.nationstates.net/nation=shunmyo_kk/detail=factbook/id=1503636]moe[/url][/align][/td][td][align=center][url=https://www.nationstates.net/nation=shunmyo_kk/detail=factbook/id=1503607]takashi[/url][/align][/td][td][align=center][url=https://www.nationstates.net/nation=shunmyo_kk/detail=factbook/id=1503650]yoshio[/url][/align][/td][/table][/align]

Then you would potentially fix the issue.

I'll try that. Keep you posted.

Edit: Sadly, it doesn't seem to work. The [align=center] before the factbook on Yuki doesn't seem to come into effect. I'll see if I can fix it somehow, but I'll be sure to edit further if I can't find a solution.

PostPosted: Tue Feb 09, 2021 6:47 pm
by Kiu Ghesik
Shunmyo KK wrote:Edit: Sadly, it doesn't seem to work. The align=center before the factbook on Yuki doesn't seem to come into effect. I'll see if I can fix it somehow, but I'll be sure to edit further if I can't find a solution.

Looking at it closer the best you could do would be something like this:
eeee


The table can't have align tags within it like it could gameside, though the table itself can be centered, for some reason. So if you wanted the text to be centered within the table it doesn't seem to be possible. If you're fine with the links not being centered, though, that option could work.

I'd suggest you just do something like this:

Code: Select all
[align=center][url=https://www.nationstates.net/nation=shunmyo_kk/detail=factbook/id=1503594]yuki[/url] - [url=https://www.nationstates.net/nation=shunmyo_kk/detail=factbook/id=1503636]moe[/url] - [url=https://www.nationstates.net/nation=shunmyo_kk/detail=factbook/id=1503607]takashi[/url] - [url=https://www.nationstates.net/nation=shunmyo_kk/detail=factbook/id=1503650]yoshio[/url][/align]




Ditching the table should allow you to center the links.

PostPosted: Tue Feb 09, 2021 6:51 pm
by Langenia
Are spoilers and the lines inside them counted?

PostPosted: Tue Feb 09, 2021 6:52 pm
by Kiu Ghesik
Langenia wrote:Are spoilers and the lines inside them counted?

The spoiler itself counts as two or three lines iirc but the stuff inside the spoiler doesn't count.

PostPosted: Tue Feb 09, 2021 6:53 pm
by Langenia
Kiu Ghesik wrote:
Langenia wrote:Are spoilers and the lines inside them counted?

The spoiler itself counts as two or three lines iirc but the stuff inside the spoiler doesn't count.


Ah, thank you!

PostPosted: Tue Feb 09, 2021 6:55 pm
by Shunmyo KK
Kiu Ghesik wrote:
Shunmyo KK wrote:Edit: Sadly, it doesn't seem to work. The align=center before the factbook on Yuki doesn't seem to come into effect. I'll see if I can fix it somehow, but I'll be sure to edit further if I can't find a solution.

Looking at it closer the best you could do would be something like this:
eeee


The table can't have align tags within it like it could gameside, though the table itself can be centered, for some reason. So if you wanted the text to be centered within the table it doesn't seem to be possible. If you're fine with the links not being centered, though, that option could work.

I'd suggest you just do something like this:

Code: Select all
[align=center][url=https://www.nationstates.net/nation=shunmyo_kk/detail=factbook/id=1503594]yuki[/url] - [url=https://www.nationstates.net/nation=shunmyo_kk/detail=factbook/id=1503636]moe[/url] - [url=https://www.nationstates.net/nation=shunmyo_kk/detail=factbook/id=1503607]takashi[/url] - [url=https://www.nationstates.net/nation=shunmyo_kk/detail=factbook/id=1503650]yoshio[/url][/align]




Ditching the table should allow you to center the links.

I'll do that, then, thanks! I wanted to keep the table, but I guess that isn't possible.

PostPosted: Tue Feb 09, 2021 7:01 pm
by Frisbeeteria
Shunmyo KK wrote:I wanted to keep the table, but I guess that isn't possible.

Tables in sigs suck eggs. If you're that much of a fan of tables, make a fancy dispatch and link it in your sig.

PostPosted: Mon Jul 26, 2021 5:37 pm
by Al Madhaa
hello! i've been drafting my signature with BBCode and accidentally went over the 8 line limit—subsequently got telegrammed by the mods (and spoilered, as seen below) so for the past hour and a half or so i've been trying to get it up to code. the template i'm trying to use is this one, right here, found in use here for reference. i've fiddled around for a bit and found a setup that i think will work, but i'm still not sure if the visible lines are over the limit. any help would be greatly appreciated <333

PostPosted: Mon Jul 26, 2021 6:07 pm
by Frisbeeteria
That's a terrible template. It includes all sorts of pointless extras, mostly extra blank lines and useless color and size changes. Try this one instead, and don't add stuff at the top or bottom. And despite the way it appears to flow, don't separate the sections.

SYMBOL LEFT
[url=URL]LINK LEFT, 1[/url]
[url=URL]LINK LEFT, 2[/url]
[url=URL]LINK LEFT, 3[/url]
SYMBOL RIGHT
[url=URL]LINK RIGHT, 1[/url]
[url=URL]LINK RIGHT, 2[/url]
[url=URL]LINK RIGHT, 3[/url]
NATION NAME, ENGLISH
NATION NAME, NATIVE ALPHABET
NATION NAME, ROMANIZATION


Code: Select all
[align=center][floatleft][box][color=red] SYMBOL LEFT [/color]
[color=red] [url=URL]LINK LEFT, 1[/url][/color]
[color=red] [url=URL]LINK LEFT, 2[/url][/color]
[color=red] [url=URL]LINK LEFT, 3[/url][/color][/box][/floatleft][floatright][box][size=100] [color=COLOR] SYMBOL RIGHT [/color] [/size]
[color=red] [url=URL]LINK RIGHT, 1[/url][/color]
[color=red][url=URL]LINK RIGHT, 2[/url][/color]
[color=red][url=URL]LINK RIGHT, 3[/url][/color][/box][/floatright][box][b][u] NATION NAME, ENGLISH [/u][/b]
[i] NATION NAME, NATIVE ALPHABET
NATION NAME, ROMANIZATION [/i][/box][/align]

PostPosted: Mon Jul 26, 2021 6:34 pm
by Al Madhaa
Frisbeeteria wrote:That's a terrible template. It includes all sorts of pointless extras, mostly extra blank lines and useless color and size changes. Try this one instead, and don't add stuff at the top or bottom. And despite the way it appears to flow, don't separate the sections.

SYMBOL LEFT
[url=URL]LINK LEFT, 1[/url]
[url=URL]LINK LEFT, 2[/url]
[url=URL]LINK LEFT, 3[/url]
SYMBOL RIGHT
[url=URL]LINK RIGHT, 1[/url]
[url=URL]LINK RIGHT, 2[/url]
[url=URL]LINK RIGHT, 3[/url]
NATION NAME, ENGLISH
NATION NAME, NATIVE ALPHABET
NATION NAME, ROMANIZATION


Code: Select all
[align=center][floatleft][box][color=red] SYMBOL LEFT [/color]
[color=red] [url=URL]LINK LEFT, 1[/url][/color]
[color=red] [url=URL]LINK LEFT, 2[/url][/color]
[color=red] [url=URL]LINK LEFT, 3[/url][/color][/box][/floatleft][floatright][box][size=100] [color=COLOR] SYMBOL RIGHT [/color] [/size]
[color=red] [url=URL]LINK RIGHT, 1[/url][/color]
[color=red][url=URL]LINK RIGHT, 2[/url][/color]
[color=red][url=URL]LINK RIGHT, 3[/url][/color][/box][/floatright][box][b][u] NATION NAME, ENGLISH [/u][/b]
[i] NATION NAME, NATIVE ALPHABET
NATION NAME, ROMANIZATION [/i][/box][/align]


tysm for your help! i've edited it a bit and it certainly looks much better but i can't for the life of me figure out how to edit the spoiler description–poking around the forum hasn't turned up anything, unfortunately.

PostPosted: Mon Jul 26, 2021 7:05 pm
by Conservative Republic Of Huang
Al Madhaa wrote:
tysm for your help! i've edited it a bit and it certainly looks much better but i can't for the life of me figure out how to edit the spoiler description–poking around the forum hasn't turned up anything, unfortunately.

Code: Select all
[spoiler=insertnamehere]contents[/spoiler]

PostPosted: Mon Jul 26, 2021 7:12 pm
by Al Madhaa
Conservative Republic Of Huang wrote:
Al Madhaa wrote:
tysm for your help! i've edited it a bit and it certainly looks much better but i can't for the life of me figure out how to edit the spoiler description–poking around the forum hasn't turned up anything, unfortunately.

Code: Select all
[spoiler=insertnamehere]contents[/spoiler]


ty! i really do appreciate it.

PostPosted: Tue Jul 27, 2021 1:42 pm
by Al Madhaa
just to add on, i've edited the signature a bit and i think i can fit everything without the upper spoiler but i'm not quite sure. a quick once-over before i remove the spoiler would be welcome, ty!