NATION

PASSWORD

[Suggestion] Custom Flags - A Million Dollar Idea

Bug reports, general help, ideas for improvements, and questions about how things are meant to work.
Separatist Peoples
GA Secretariat

Founded: Feb 17, 2011
Left-Leaning College State

[Suggestion] Custom Flags - A Million Dollar Idea

Postby Separatist Peoples » Thu Mar 12, 2015 7:32 am

I think this suggestion goes here, since it would involve a technical alteration to the site itself. Its been kicking in my head, and I don't think I'll get it out unless I actually pitch it.

I’ll go ahead and admit that I have very little small business experience, limited to building and selling mechanical pencil spitball shooters in grade school. However, I can’t help but think of something that would help put some extra cash in the site’s coffers: selling Custom Flags.

Here’s the scoop: The site contracts with a custom flag manufacturer. I know there are companies out there that will do this for a pretty reasonable fee. For ease, here are a few I looked up just now:

http://www.custom-flag-makers.com/

http://www.seattleflagmakers.com/photos.html

http://www.eclipseflags.com/

Blah blah blah. I don’t know about individual policy with international shipping, which is why I considered multiple contractors. Anyways, to the meat of it!

My thought is that the player can order, through the NS Store, their nation’s flag, customized in a few preset sizes:

Desk Flag – 3”-5” decorative desk flag with a plastic or wooden pole and perhaps a base. Depending on the profit margins, this could be a batch order of 3-4 only.

Miniature Flag – 1’x1.5’or rough equivalent, sort of a pennant-sized flag for walls and the like, not a full sized banner.

Large Flag – 3’x5’regular-size flag for hanging on a flagpole.