NATION

PASSWORD

[DRAFT] Science Journalism Under Scrutiny

A place to spoil daily issues for those who haven't had them yet, snigger at typos, and discuss ideas for new ones.
Golgothastan
Ambassador

Founded: Mar 26, 2005
Ex-Nation

[DRAFT] Science Journalism Under Scrutiny

Postby Golgothastan » Tue Apr 22, 2014 3:31 pm

I've never tried writing an issue before so this may be crap, but here goes. I know it's a bit similar to "Free Press Too Free?", but the emphasis is more on science journalism specifically.

Description

After the @@NAME@@ Telegraph posted an article suggesting a popular soft drink causes cancer, while the @@NAME@@ Times posted an article claiming the same drink cured cancer, a diverse coalition of scientists, consumers and the professionally enraged have demanded reforms to the way science journalism is regulated.

Validity

Valid for all? Unless there's an on/off for censorship, in which case invalid for nations that have already abolished freedom of the press

Options

[option]"The state of science journalism in this country is getting ridiculous," claims @@RANDOMNAME@@, the exasperated Professor for the Public Understanding of Science at the University of @@NAME@@. "Science journalists have a special responsibility to report the truth: otherwise, we get scaremongering and misinformation. The government needs to establish a committee to ensure the validity of all scientific claims in newspapers. And, if you're looking for someone to chair it..."
[effect]every newspaper science article comes with fifty pages of expert opinion and legal disclaimers attached
[stats]civil freedoms decrease, administration increases, Book Publishing decreases, happiness increases, health increases, intelligence increases