NATION

PASSWORD

Nothing to Get Hung About? [DRAFT]

A place to spoil daily issues for those who haven't had them yet, snigger at typos, and discuss ideas for new ones.
Milograd
Negotiator

Founded: Feb 10, 2011
Ex-Nation

Nothing to Get Hung About? [DRAFT]

Postby Milograd » Wed Dec 26, 2012 3:53 pm

I decided to try my hand at an issue again. I'm very new to drafting issues, so I definitely would appreciate feedback.

[title] Nothing to Get Hung About?

[description] The suicide of an extremely popular singer from @@NAME@@ has upset a large portion of your nation's citizens, whom are now demanding that something be done by the government to prevent or discourage suicide.
[validity] Not valid for nations that have criminalized suicide

[option]"Criminalizing suicide would discourage people from taking their life in the first place," argues your long-time friend, @@RANDOMNAME@@, while flipping through the pages of the @@CAPITAL@@ Times' obituaries. "Additionally, people put a terrible burden on their peers when they try to take their own lives. That's criminal! If suicide were illegal, it would be obvious to every citizen of @@NAME@@ that it's wrong to try to kill yourself."
[effect] the nation's vacationers are being found dead abroad.
[stats] Law & Order increases, Taxes increase

[option]"People who try to kill themselves shouldn't be punished for being ill," states your Minister of Health, @@RANDOMNAME@@. "Being suicidal is often a sign of mental illness or depression, and I'll be damned if our government stoops to punishing the sick for their symptoms. Criminalizing suicide would only worsen the plight of suicidal people, and we would save a lot of lives by educating our people about suicide and extending a helping hand to suicidal people who need our support."
[effect] the nation's suicide hotlines have been overwhelmed.
[stats] Healthcare increases, Education increases, Taxes increase